Drop In To See what Condition Your Condition Is In

There was a song in the sixties with the lyrics “I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in.” I can’t even tell you what that meant, but I think it is a pretty good phrase to remind us to slow down every now and then and take stock of what’s going on in our brains.

Just today, I heard several people make comments about how they were so stressed, they couldn’t even think straight. One said that she keeps forgetting things because her brain is so full of “stuff.” I’m guessing that most of us can relate to that feeling. Sometimes, my brain feels like spaghetti…I can’t separate one thought from the next. I like spaghetti. See? I can’t stay with one thought!

In this age of technology; our brains are receiving so much information every day, it sometimes leads to sensory overload. Add to that; the pressures of daily life and the fact that everywhere we turn there is a news broadcast, magazine headline or YouTube video that we are trying to process and it’s no wonder that sometimes we just short out!

If you are noticing that you’re feeling short tempered, impatient, forgetful, or just find yourself staring into space and mumbling incoherently (maybe that’s just me) maybe it’s time to shut down for a moment and consider what’s going on. I think people used to do that in the olden days…when I was young.

If your electronic device isn’t functioning at optimum level, you get it checked out. If your car starts acting sluggish, you take it in to see what’s wrong. Doesn’t your brain deserve the same respect? There are no medals handed out for exploding or imploding mentally! All of us should be on talking terms with our emotions and occasionally drop in to see what condition our condition is in.

Linda Henley-Smith is an author, speaker and trainer. Visit her website at http://www.lindahenley-smith.com

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

