It’s Not About Being a Pollyanna

When someone tells me to have a positive attitude, I have to admit that sometimes I want to tell them to shut up! I know that sounds strange coming from a person who teaches about the importance of attitude, but I don’t think I’m much different than most other people. Sometimes it is just hard to imagine having any positive feelings about what is happening in my life!

But I have been working to get past that immediate reaction and I have come to the point of understanding that maintaining a positive attitude doesn’t mean shaking my head, and like Scarlett O’Hara, living in denial that there is a problem. It isn’t about being unrealistic, nor is it believing that if you think positively, everything will work out the way you want. I have found that optimism is about understanding that there are options. You don’t have to resort to despair or negativity when troubles arise, because there are other solutions, paths and possibilities.

Maintaining an attitude of altitude means working toward a level of self-confidence that allows you to remain strong when challenges arise. It means opening your mind to alternatives when plans go awry. It means pulling yourself up and realizing that “this, too, shall pass” and just because things look bad now, doesn’t mean that there is no hope for the future. You possess the ability to rise above and move beyond disappointments and obstacles.

Is attitude important? You bet! Take a look at this:…each letter is given a numeric assignment according to its place in the alphabet: A=1 T=20 T=20 I=9 T=20 U=21 D=4 E=5 and when you add them up……attitude is 100% of how we live our lives!

This was given to me by a sixteen-year-old boy who had every right to have a negative attitude, because due to an accident that was not his fault, he was left a quadriplegic. Yet his attitude transcended his physical condition. He said to me, “That accident took away my arms and legs, but nothing can ever take away my hope and my positive attitude…the quality of my life depends on those two things!”

Something to think about.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

