Angry Eyes

My favorite characters in the Toy Story movies are Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head. I love the scene that shows Mrs. Potato Head packing for her husband, and she tells him that she is packing an extra pair of shoes and his “angry eyes,” just in case.

It makes me think about the “eyes” that I pack every day. Sometimes, we set ourselves up for having a bad day, by preparing and expecting the worst. Every morning that I awaken and play the “Guess my Stress” game or assume that something will go wrong, or that traffic will be horrible, or that someone will make me mad, etc. etc….I am already subconsciously packing my angry eyes.

Have you heard of self-fulfilling prophecies? Sometimes, we sabotage ourselves by expecting and looking for the worst in situations. If I look hard enough for something to be wrong with my day, I will find it. However, if I take off my angry eyes and put on my hopeful pair, it will help me to look for the joy that the day may hold, rather than to focus on the bleak stuff.

Some may think that is like looking at everything through rose colored glasses and being a “Pollyanna.” I prefer to think of it as choosing to filter out the unimportant negativity and refusing to rent out my brain cells to non-productive thoughts. I’d rather be at peace than to live in anger. If you’re always on the lookout for trouble, you may miss some good things.

They say that the eyes are windows into the soul. When I think of that, it makes me want to keep those angry eyes in storage and wear my joyful ones!

Leave a Reply

