One Piece of the Puzzle

I am really terrible at working on jigsaw puzzles. Apparently, I lack the eye-hand coordination, spatial awareness and patience to be successful at fitting a bunch of little jaggedy-shaped pieces together to make a picture.

I have been known to become so frustrated, that I have resorted to cutting, bending or biting a piece into the shape that is needed to fit a space. Yes, I am aware of the fact that makes me sound really odd, but that is the way it is. When it comes to puzzles, I am puzzled!

It would be my guess that most people would have more difficulty if there wasn’t a picture on the box lid, to show what the puzzle is supposed to look like when it is completed. And without a picture; no matter how proficient a puzzle “putter-togetherer” might be, it would be virtually impossible to look at one lone piece and figure out what the whole thing should look like.

Life is like a jigsaw puzzle.  No…Forrest Gump did not say that…I did! What I mean is that it is made up of a lot of pieces, we only get one piece at a time, and we don’t get a box lid with a picture! We really can’t see what lies ahead of us and sometimes, we can’t figure out why certain things happened to us in the past.  Of course, this is because we don’t have all of the pieces of the puzzle and we’re not supposed to have them yet. We may have formulated a picture in our mind of what our life is supposed to look like, but that picture might be totally different than the way it’s going to end up.

Every minute, every hour, every day and every experience we have is a piece of the puzzle. Sometimes they fit together and sometimes they don’t. Sometimes we have to wait for a while to get a piece that connects with one that we already have; because if we try to cut, bend or chew in order to wedge in a piece that doesn’t really belong there…well, you know that never works!

But if we are patient, we will begin to see a beautiful picture unfold which won’t be complete until we leave this earth. If we enjoy the process, we will see the pieces slowly move and shift, like a kaleidoscope; offering an ever changing variety of colorful pictures that will be more amazing than anything we ever could have imagined if we planned it!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “One Piece of the Puzzle”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Hello- I love this article about how life is like a puzzle. I am a super planner. I mean, when I was a freshman in college, I planned out every course I needed so I would graduate at the time I wanted. So, my husband and I have uprooted our family, and sold everything to move overseas. Nothing is like we hoped or planned and it is hitting the kids the hardest (making me quite emotional, of course). We are puzzled-this is not how it was supposed to be. I planned for us all to have a great cultural experience. The school they are at is inadequate, to say the least and the quality of life is very different. Yes, life is puzzling. The people in my ilfe are all giving me the same advice-to stick it out-at least for 1 year (it has been 6 months). My question to you, is this: “How can I make myself agree with them?” What they are saying is right and all thier points are valid. Why am I having such difficulty agreeing with them and taking thier advice?”

  2. Andrea Howell Chouhan Says:

    Reblogged this on green bean kindergarten and commented:
    I read this on a wonderful blog today and wanted to share it with my readers. It is a great way to think about why we face certain challenges in life, whether it be at work, the home or at school. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

