Head + Heart = Good Decision!

It seems as if we spend a lot of time trying to figure things out.  Personally, I often contemplate issues such as: Where does fat go when you lose it? Does it just float around in the universe until it finds a new home on the hips of some poor, unsuspecting person?  And, I wonder why the universe sees fit to make sure I always choose the wrong checkout line in the grocery store. But, I also try to solve more important challenges from time to time, as we all do.

We are told to “think things through” before making decisions, and to “use our heads” when solving problems.  Our heads are indeed important, but so are our hearts! I think we are sometimes able to make better decisions when we give some credit to our “gut” feelings and hold back a little on idolizing our intellect.

When I sense that something in my life is askew, I feel it in my solar plexus; often referred to as the pit of your stomach…your gut…if you will. I think that is the center of all of our emotions.  It’s probably why some people lose their appetites when they are grappling with a problem. On another personal note, I often lose my temper, I always lose my keys and at times I have lost my mind…however, I have never lost my appetite. But, I digress….

Seriously; in order to live a balanced life, we need to use both head and heart in making decisions and choosing our paths. Sometimes, we can know something intellectually and yet still feel uncertainty in our gut. When there is a disconnect between the two….it can cause us to be conflicted.  If most of our reactions and decisions are based on our intellect and logic, and we don’t allow our heart to join in, we become double-minded and that can often be confusing. However, if we let emotions and gut play a part; we become single-minded, because both of our decision-making mechanisms are united and working as one.

I have come up with an acronym to help me step aside and take a look at challenging situations with a more complete perspective, using all of my senses, my emotional intelligence, and especially my gut feelings:

Get out of your head.

Utilize your emotions.

Trust your instincts.

If we learn to have our heads and hearts work in tandem…we just might find out how great it feels to trust ourselves to make good decisions!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

