Avoid Brain Chaos Syndrome

I recently found myself in a place of great chaos. I’m not referring to my garage, which is where everything that can’t find a resting place on a wall, a table, a counter, or the floor of my house goes to hang out. Nor am I referring to the interior of my car, which is the breeding ground of many science projects due to regular transporting of small children who eat part of their Happy Meals and stash the rest between the seats.

This chaos was in my head. As often happens, I had overloaded my brain with “stuff.” Every now and then, I fill every available crevice with what I call the “shoulda, woulda, couldas, oughtas, and what ifs” of my life. These are the things that I need to release, but I keep them around just in case I need to feel lousy. Add to that, the list of self-imposed duties that I feel I should accept when I am in my Wonder Woman frame of mind. These things, combined with my actual every day responsibilities, often cause me to go on Stress Overload. When this happens, I hear myself saying things like, “I’m at the end of my rope!” Completing this cycle, are one or all of the following: tears, a barrage of negative and possibly naughty words, a sense of panic, misdirected anger, and finally, total exhaustion.

How ridiculous is that? But, I believe I’m not the only one who goes through Chaotic Brain Syndrome. It occurs when we don’t regularly delete unnecessary and negative thoughts, and we keep filling our brains with more and more things that cause pressure, stress and feelings of being overwhelmed.

I think of my brain as a storage closet. I keep lots of stuff in there, but I need to rearrange and discard items on a regular basis. There are things that I don’t need any longer (guilt, remorse, bitterness, feelings of martyrdom) and if I don’t remove them, there will not be room for the things I do want to keep or any new items that I’d like to store in there (joy, hope, healthy balance, confidence, self-value.)

If you are feeling chaotic, look into a mirror. If you are not wearing metal breast plates or a cape that blows in the wind, chances are you are not a Super Hero and you don’t have to fix all of the problems in the world. And if you are feeling like you’re at the end of your rope, first of all…just be glad that you have a rope. Then, try climbing the rope, rather than hanging yourself with it or waiting for someone to pull you up. Begin by saying “no” to extra responsibilities that you just can’t handle right now and saying “yes” to things that allow you to have good mental health.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

